Six Things I Liked About Opening Day
1. Surprising the kids by showing up at their school to take them out early and then telling them in the car that they were going to Fenway Park for the season opener. You can’t manufacture that kind of excitement!
2. Walking past soon to be Hall of Famer Jim Rice outside the EMC Club. For a moment, we were in the presence of greatness. I can’t wait to see him in Cooperstown.
3. Seeing Ted Kennedy throw out the first pitch. Knowing that he may not be here for another opening day, I’ll admit to wiping a tear out of my eye. He threw the ball like a girl, but, hey, he’s got a brain tumor.
4. Getting my friend Dave’s text during the opening ceremonies regarding Jim Rice driving Ted in the golf cart out to the mound: “Thank God they let Rice Drive…we all know what happens when Teddy does."
5. Meeting up with my Uncle Jack, who I see a few times a year and usually at Fenway Park. It’s always nice to share a Guinness with my mom’s baby brother.
6. Watching my kids get their balls signed by Luis Tiante.
Seven Things I Didn’t Particularly Like About Opening Day
1. Having to explain to my kids who Luis Tiante was and having one of them ask, “He played in the 70’s when you were a little kid, and he’s still alive?!”
2. The incompetent kettle corn workers who couldn’t seem to figure out how to make more than three bags at a time. I didn’t appreciate having to wait for an inning and a half for a bag of kettle corn, and of course, when I got to the front of the line, they were out AGAIN and I had the choice of watching Papelbon close the game or watching a bunch of incompetent workers stand around watching one guy with a paddle in the kettle stirring corn.
3. The constant chanting by my kids, “I want, I want, I want…”
4. The Boston Pops playing the national anthem. I get the 7th inning stretch having them play God Bless America and Take Me Out To The Ballgame, but the national anthem should be done by someone who can hit those high, long notes and not a bunch of violins and French horns. We watched a miracle in 2004 and one in 2007 so I know the Sox are capable of making things happen. They couldn’t find a halfway decent singer in Boston after Seal left them high and dry in the rain?
5. Why should opening day be any different than any other game? I still don’t particularly like the clueless fans who can’t find their seat and feel the need to stand right in front of me blocking the game from view…then when they can’t find their seats, pull out their cell phones to call for directions. At least have the courtesy to crouch the hell down so that the rest of us fans can watch what’s happening on the field.
6. The polar ice melt that is the water in the sinks in the ladies room by Section 94. It’s cold enough already during an April game, but the Sox feel the need to flash freeze the hands of every lady who has to take a potty break. Completely unforgivable.
7. The Sox advertised that they didn't go up in prices for their food and beverages....BUT they did make the size of the Guinness smaller, 10 oz vs 12 oz for the same price as last year. So, Guinness drinkers beware, they aren't charging you more, but you're getting less than last year. This just doesn't seem right to me. It's like taking the Hilltop steak sandwich which has five pieces of steak in it and only giving you four. It's just not right.
Wednesday, April 8, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
